Skip to content

I like moving moving

March 14, 2010

As you may know from my previous post, I just bought a new hard disk and installed Windows 7 on it. But you know me, I won’t let Ubuntu down , so I installed it today. I was thinking to use dd to move my whole Linux partition to new hard disk, but I have several issues with this method.

1. I only allocated 20G for my old Ubuntu and it’s running out of space. This is one of the key reason why I want to buy a new / bigger hard drive .

2. I only use one partition for my old Ubuntu which means I may have to move again when Ubuntu 10.04 comes.

Finally I decided to partition my drive the way I described below

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda6              25G  2.5G   22G  11% /
udev                  1.5G  368K  1.5G   1% /dev
none                  1.5G  272K  1.5G   1% /dev/shm
none                  1.5G   84K  1.5G   1% /var/run
none                  1.5G     0  1.5G   0% /var/lock
none                  1.5G     0  1.5G   0% /lib/init/rw
none                   25G  2.5G   22G  11% /var/lib/ureadahead/debugfs
/dev/sda2              74G  9.6G   61G  14% /home
/dev/sdb5              18G   15G  2.5G  86% /media/42e33181-23cf-41b0-b59f-73768d6c1ac9
/dev/sdb2              51G   39G   12G  77% /media/BA8C7FBC8C7F722D
/dev/sda3             196G   27G  169G  14% /media/06DA0A15DA0A01A3

As you can see, I created a 74G partition for my /home directory and 25G for my root / directory. Those 3 media partitions are my Windows 7 on new drive, Windows XP and Ubuntu on my old one.

When Ubuntu 10.04 comes, I can easily to do a refresh install in / and keep my /home untouched. This way I don’t need to do the backup and restore as I am going to describe.

To move my old Ubuntu to new hard disk, here are the steps what I did

1. Download Ubuntu desktop ISO from Ubuntu website

2. Transform iso into usb flash drive using UNetBootin.

3. Boot from usb drive and install Ubuntu as normal

4. Mount old hard disk in external enclosure on Ubuntu

5. Using rsync to create and restore old home to /home/jqyao_old .

sudo rsync -axS –exclude=’/*/.gvfs’ /media/42e33181-23cf-41b0-b59f-73768d6c1ac9/home/jqyao/ /home/jqyao_old/

It took my x61t around 5 minutes to finish this step. The reason to use rsync is because it can keep all the permission and group/user information for all my files.

6. sudo mv jqyao jqyao.bak ; sudo mv jqyao_old jqyao

Restart and I am seeing all my personal staff back. The drawback is that I still need to manually install packages. Trying to find a way to generate installed packages list using apt-get/aptitude so we can easily restore from that package list. I think this could be very useful and I need to do more research on this.

Anyway, I am pretty happy with my new 7200rpm hard drive and Windows 7 / Ubuntu 9.10 dual boot on my x61t.

Update: I just found this article http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-get-list-installed-software-reinstallation-restore.html and it says you can use dpkg for backup/restore purpose. I haven’t tried yet, but will keep this update.

Update , I had installed these packages

jqyao@jqyao-x61t:~$ history | grep apt | grep install
150  sudo aptitude install php5-dev
176  sudo aptitude install php-codesniffer
416  sudo aptitude install flashplugin-nonfree
437  sudo aptitude install cellwriter
440  sudo aptitude install ibus-pinyin
442  sudo aptitude install xournal
444  sudo aptitude install thunderbird
446  sudo aptitude install pidgin
460  sudo aptitude install vim-gnome
462  sudo aptitude install emcacs23-nox
468  sudo aptitude install ctags
470  sudo aptitude install sun-java6-jdk
471  sudo aptitude install eclipse
499  sudo apt-get install virtualbox-3.1
503  sudo aptitude install git subversion php5-dev php5 php5-cli
505  sudo apt-get install build-essential
506  sudo apt-get install ruby
512  sudo apt-get install irb
From → Linux, Thinkpad

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

